HOME  |  SITEMAP  |  CONTACT US  |  TRANSLATE  |  EMPLOYEE LOGIN
Municipal Court

Driving Safety Course

 

If you are charged with a traffic offense, you may be eligible to ask the judge to take a driving safety course to dismiss the charge.  You must request this in writing or in person within twenty (20) business days from the date of your citation or you could lose that right.  A written notice is a notarized affidavit of eligibility or sworn request. ( Form is provided in a link below for you to print.) 

 

DO NOT take the course until you have obtained permission from the court.

 

You do not qualify to take driving safety course if you have a Commercial Driver’s License; have completed the class within the last twelve (12) months; charged with speeding 25 m.p.h. over the posted speed limit or have committed one of the following offenses:

 

  1. Failure to Give Information at Accident Scene
  2. Leaving Scene of Accident
  3. Fleeing or Attempting to Elude Police Officer
  4. Reckless Driving
  5. Passing School Bus
  6. A serious traffic offense, which applies to commercial motor vehicle operators
  7. An offense in a construction zone when workers are present

 

Eligibility requirements for Driving Safety Course are as follows:

 

  1. You must enter a written plea of Guilty or No Contest (DSC Request form)
  2. You must possess a valid Texas Driver’s License
  3. You must possess Texas Liability Insurance valid the day of your request with your name on the policy
  4. You must pay the State Cost and Administrative fee $110.00 or $135.00 (if violation occurred in a school zone). Contact court to determine the cost.
  5. You cannot be charged with speeding in excess of 25 m.p.h. over the posted limit
  6. You cannot currently be taking the course for another citation
  7. Your driving record can not reflect completion of a driving safety course within the twelve months preceding the date of the alleged offense.

 

You must provide the court with a sworn notarized affidavit (DSC Request form), with the copy of your driver’s license, and proof of insurance with your name on it to the court within 20 business days from the issue date of the citation.  Upon court approval to take the course, you will have ninety days in which to provide the court with the two following documents:

 

  1. The “court copy” of the certificate of completion for the driver safety course from an agency approved by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and
  2. A certified copy of your driving record maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.

If these two documents are not filed with the court within ninety days, you may be responsible for payment of fine, thereby having the offense reported to your driving record and a warrant issued for your arrest.

 

You may obtain the required form for driver safety course here:                                                            Sworn request for driving safety course

 

You may obtain your driving record here:
Click here to obtain the certified copy or your driving record (must be record 3A):


Please mail all required documents and payment (money order only) to:
Sanger Municipal Court
P.O. Box 578
Sanger, TX  76266

Sanger, Texas City Hall
502 Elm St, Sanger, TX 76266
Phone: 940-458-7930

City of Sanger - FacebookCity of Sanger - TwitterCity of Sanger - YoutubeCity of Sanger - Code Red

Copyright © City of Sanger, Texas  2016. All rights reserved.

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM